Port Royal, SC

Renting in Port Royal? Here's What You Need to Know Before You Sign

None of the three apartment communities confirmed to sit inside Port Royal's own town limits -- Preserve at Port Royal, Vivo Living Port Royal, and the income-restricted Marsh Pointe -- publish rent on their own site. Port Royal runs its own council government, separate from the City of Beaufort next door, and its town limits, not Beaufort's, are where Naval Hospital Beaufort itself actually sits.

Check Your Port Royal Lease ↗

Port Royal Rental Market Overview

Three apartment communities confirmed to sit inside Port Royal's own town limits were checked directly against their own websites, as of September 2026 -- none publishes a rent figure. Preserve at Port Royal, at 1 Preserve Ave W, offers one- and two-bedroom apartments plus a separate "Essential Housing" track referenced in its site navigation, but routes pricing through an online leasing portal that doesn't render pricing for a direct check. Vivo Living Port Royal, at 1660 Ribaut Road, leases only studio floor plans -- a 228-square-foot "Cypress" and a 282-square-foot "Beaufort" -- with utilities, internet, and cable bundled in, and was running a "no rent until November 1" move-in promotion rather than publishing a base rate. Marsh Pointe, a 48-unit property at 1630 Ribaut Road financed through the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credit program at the 60%-of-area-median-income tier, has no leasing website of its own to check directly; its unit count and income restriction come from the national LIHTC property database. Two other candidates that surface in searches for "Port Royal apartments" -- Residences at Port Royal on Southside Boulevard and Integra Wrights Point -- were checked against U.S. Census Bureau jurisdiction data and both resolve to the City of Beaufort's own limits, not the town of Port Royal's, despite a Port Royal-area mailing address; neither is reported here.

Not Publicly Disclosed
Preserve at Port Royal (1-2BR apartments)
Not Publicly Disclosed
Vivo Living Port Royal (228-282 sq ft studios)
Landlord-Favored
Market Type

Common Lease Terms in Port Royal

These are the lease terms most commonly seen at the Port Royal communities researched for this guide.

  • Vivo Living Port Royal bundles utilities, internet, and cable into its studio units' pricing rather than billing them as separate line items -- and was advertising a "no rent until November 1" promotion for move-ins by a stated date rather than a standing lease rate
  • Preserve at Port Royal's site does not state a standard lease length, and its "Essential Housing" track is referenced in the navigation without published eligibility terms
  • Marsh Pointe, financed under the federal LIHTC program, restricts occupancy to households at or below 60% of the area median income rather than offering open-market leasing

Local Tenant Protections

South Carolina law provides the baseline for tenant rights, but Port Royal may have additional local ordinances that affect your lease.

  • Port Royal's own Business License Department requires a rental-account registration for both long-term and short-term residential rentals under Chapter 12 of the Town's Code of Ordinances -- a landlord-side business-licensing requirement layered on top of South Carolina's statewide landlord-tenant statute, not a tenant-facing deposit or notice rule
  • The Town's Short-Term Rental Ordinance (2024-19, adopted December 2024) requires a Business License and a pre-issuance safety inspection, caps short-term rentals at 6% of residential dwellings within each of five mapped districts, and lets an existing short-term rental's status transfer once to a new owner under its "Legacy Rights" provision -- this framework governs stays under 29 days, not standard 12-month leases
  • No Port Royal ordinance was found that adds standard-lease tenant protections -- security deposit rules, notice periods, habitability standards -- beyond South Carolina's statewide baseline
  • No local rent control; South Carolina law preempts it statewide

South Carolina statewide baseline

Security deposit cap
No cap
Deposit return
30 days
Landlord entry notice
24 hours
Rent regulation
None statewide

Statutory basis: S.C. Code §27-40-410/-530. Figures verified June 2026 against the primary statute. Statutes change — a lawyer in South Carolina can confirm what applies to a specific tenancy.

For full South Carolina statewide tenant rights, see our South Carolina tenant rights guide.

Mandatory Fees at Port Royal Communities

What follows is what each community's own website discloses (or doesn't), verified September 2026.

  • Vivo Living Port Royal: a current promotion waives application and administrative fees for qualifying move-ins and bundles utilities, internet, and cable into one monthly cost; no base rent or standing fee schedule is published outside that promotion.
  • Preserve at Port Royal: no itemized fee schedule appears on the public site; pricing and availability route through an online leasing portal, and the "Essential Housing" track referenced in the navigation lists no published income limits or pricing.
  • Marsh Pointe: eligibility is income-based rather than fee-based under its Low-Income Housing Tax Credit financing (60% of area median income); no public leasing site was found to check a fee schedule against directly.

None of Port Royal's three verified communities publish a complete fee schedule on their own site. Getting the full line-item breakdown in writing before signing matters more here than in a market where at least some pricing is already posted online.

What Sets Port Royal's Rental Market Apart

Port Royal is its own incorporated town -- council government, its own mayor and town manager, town hall on Paris Avenue -- not a neighborhood of the City of Beaufort next door, even though the two sit a few minutes apart on the same stretch of Port Royal Island. The town's Old Village historic district runs along Paris Avenue, with cross streets named for Paris, London, Madrid, and Edinburgh honoring the immigrant communities that settled the area. The single biggest driver of the town's modern population, though, is a 2000 annexation: Port Royal absorbed Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island into its own town limits that year, and the population went from 3,950 residents in 2000 to 10,678 by the 2010 Census -- a 170% increase tied directly to that annexation. Growth continued at a steadier pace after that: the 2020 Census counted 14,220 residents, a further 33% increase over 2010.

A related but separate fact is worth knowing on its own: despite carrying Beaufort's name and a Beaufort, SC 29902 mailing address, Naval Hospital Beaufort's own street address -- 1 Pinckney Boulevard -- sits inside Port Royal's town limits, not the City of Beaufort's, confirmed against the U.S. Census Bureau's incorporated-places boundary data. Commissioned in 1949 as one of the few Navy hospitals built as its own standalone medical complex rather than inside a larger base, it anchors the same regional military economy -- alongside Parris Island and Marine Corps Air Station Beaufort -- that drives rental demand across this whole stretch of the Lowcountry, not just in the city that happens to share its name.

Port Royal's own waterfront has followed a slower, still-unfinished arc. The South Carolina State Ports Authority closed its port terminal here in 2004, and redevelopment stalled through the Great Recession before Grey Ghost Properties purchased the waterfront site in 2017. As of a December 2025 town presentation, planning for the marina area -- branded "Safe Harbor" -- was still moving through near-term and phased concept stages rather than finished construction. The Sands, Port Royal's public beach and boardwalk on the same waterfront, is finished and open today and functions as the town's own answer to Beaufort's downtown waterfront park a few miles up the river.

None of the three verified communities in this guide sit in the Old Village or right on the Sands waterfront -- all three researched addresses run along the Ribaut Road corridor toward Parris Island, not the walkable downtown blocks Port Royal markets itself on. Anyone renting specifically for that in-town, walk-to-the-water feel should confirm a listing's actual location before signing.

Common Issues Renters Face in Port Royal

These are the most frequent lease-related considerations reported by renters and researched at Port Royal communities:

  • None of the three verified in-town communities publish a rent figure or a complete fee schedule, so a direct online price comparison isn't possible the way it is in many markets
  • A Port Royal-area mailing address doesn't guarantee Port Royal jurisdiction -- Residences at Port Royal (Southside Boulevard) and Integra Wrights Point both surface in searches for the area but resolve to the City of Beaufort's own limits, not the town's, when checked directly
  • Marsh Pointe's income restriction (60% of area median income under the federal LIHTC program) means it isn't an open-market option for every renter, unlike the other two verified communities
  • Vivo Living Port Royal's floor plans are studio-only (228-282 square feet); renters needing a one- or two-bedroom unit confirmed inside town limits have fewer verified options to compare

Negotiating Your Lease in Port Royal

South Carolina is landlord-favorable with minimal statutory protections, and Port Royal layers its own landlord-side business-license registration on top of that baseline -- neither changes the terms of an individual lease, but both are worth knowing going in.

  • Getting a written price quote and full fee schedule in hand matters more in Port Royal than in a market where at least some pricing is already posted online, since none of the three verified communities publish one
  • Confirming a specific unit's actual town jurisdiction is worth doing before signing anywhere near the Beaufort/Port Royal line, since a mailing address alone doesn't settle it
  • Comparing Vivo Living Port Royal's bundled utilities-and-internet pricing against a standard unbundled lease elsewhere is worth doing directly, since the "included" costs are folded into one number rather than itemized

A community that can't produce a written price and fee schedule on request is a bigger flag in a market like Port Royal's, where none of the public sites are publishing one to check it against.

Local Tip for Port Royal Renters

Port Royal's own Business License Department treats long-term residential rentals as a registered business activity, separate from the short-term rental licensing most renters have heard of -- a detail that mostly affects the landlord's own paperwork, not the tenant's, but it's a sign that whoever owns a unit in town carries a filing obligation with the Town itself, on top of whatever the property management company handles. Because none of Port Royal's verified communities post pricing publicly, calling or visiting a leasing office directly is the standard way to get real numbers here, not a fallback for when the website falls short.

Frequently Asked Questions About Renting in Port Royal

What is the average rent in Port Royal?
None of the three apartment communities confirmed to be within Port Royal's own town limits publish a rent figure on their own site, as of September 2026. Preserve at Port Royal offers one- and two-bedroom apartments but routes pricing through an online leasing portal rather than posting it directly. Vivo Living Port Royal leases only studio floor plans (228-282 square feet) with utilities, internet, and cable bundled in, and was running a "no rent until November 1" move-in promotion instead of a published base rate. Marsh Pointe, a 48-unit property financed through the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credit program, restricts eligibility to households at or below 60% of the area median income and has no public leasing website to check a rate against directly.
What fees do Port Royal communities charge beyond rent?
None of the three verified communities publishes a complete fee schedule. Vivo Living Port Royal's current promotion waives application and administrative fees for qualifying move-ins and bundles utilities, internet, and cable into one monthly cost rather than itemizing them. Preserve at Port Royal's public site has no fee list at all; pricing and availability route through an online leasing portal, and a separate "Essential Housing" track is referenced without published income limits or pricing. Marsh Pointe's eligibility is income-based rather than fee-based under its Low-Income Housing Tax Credit financing, and no public leasing site was found to verify a fee schedule against directly.
Is Port Royal the same as the City of Beaufort?
No. Port Royal is its own incorporated town with its own council government -- a mayor and a five-member council, run day-to-day by an appointed town manager -- separate from the City of Beaufort next door. The two share a county government and the same regional military employers, but a Port Royal or Beaufort mailing address doesn't reliably show which town actually governs a given address: Residences at Port Royal, on Southside Boulevard, and Integra Wrights Point both surface in searches for the Port Royal area, but both resolve to the City of Beaufort's own jurisdiction, not the town's, when checked against U.S. Census Bureau boundary data.
Is Naval Hospital Beaufort actually in Port Royal?
Yes. Despite carrying Beaufort's name and a Beaufort, SC 29902 mailing address, Naval Hospital Beaufort's own street address -- 1 Pinckney Boulevard -- sits inside the town of Port Royal's limits, not the City of Beaufort's, confirmed against the U.S. Census Bureau's incorporated-places boundary data. Commissioned in 1949 as one of the few Navy hospitals built as its own standalone complex rather than inside a larger base, it anchors the same regional military economy as Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island -- annexed into Port Royal's own town limits in 2000 -- and Marine Corps Air Station Beaufort.
Does Port Royal have rent control or tenant protections beyond South Carolina's statewide baseline?
No standard-lease protection beyond the state baseline was found. Port Royal's own Business License Department does require a rental-account registration for both long-term and short-term residential rentals under Chapter 12 of the town's Code of Ordinances, and a separate Short-Term Rental Ordinance (2024-19, adopted December 2024) requires a Business License, a pre-issuance safety inspection, and caps short-term rentals at 6% of residential dwellings within each of five mapped districts -- but both are landlord-side business-licensing rules, not tenant-facing deposit, notice, or habitability protections, and the short-term framework governs stays under 29 days, not standard 12-month leases. South Carolina Code Section 27-39-60 also bars any county or municipality from enacting rent control on privately owned residential property, so a local rent-control ordinance isn't legally possible here either.

Stop Guessing. Get Your LiabilityScore™

Upload your lease and get a plain-English risk analysis in minutes. It's free — and it might save you thousands.

Score My Lease Now ↗