Bluffton, SC

Renting in Bluffton? Here's What You Need to Know Before You Sign

Bluffton's Lowcountry rental market runs $1,784-2,123/month at two verified communities. Emerson Isles discloses a full itemized fee schedule beyond rent; The Grays at Old Town does not. Bluffton's "fastest-growing" reputation is a real but longer-run 2010s story, not the current single-year Census data -- that title belongs to Hardeeville, Woodruff, and a handful of Upstate towns instead.

Check Your Bluffton Lease ↗

Bluffton Rental Market Overview

Two Bluffton communities publish verified pricing on their own sites, as of September 2026. Emerson Isles' published floor plans start at $1,869/month (a 3-bedroom "Slate") up to $2,123/month (a 3-bedroom "Zinc"), with a 2-bedroom "Indigo" at $1,953/month; several 1-2 bedroom plans are listed "Call For Pricing." The Grays at Old Town, in the historic Old Town area, publishes $1,784/month for a 2-bedroom and $2,088/month for a 3-bedroom. Two single-family rental operators, Retreat at New Riverside and New River Forest, list floor plans with no pricing at all. Six other prominent Bluffton communities' own sites returned bot-protection blocks to automated verification and are not reported here with unconfirmed pricing.

$1,869–2,123/mo
Emerson Isles (full fee schedule disclosed)
$1,784–2,088/mo
The Grays at Old Town (fees not itemized)
Landlord-Favored
Market Type

Common Lease Terms in Bluffton

These are the lease terms most commonly seen at the Bluffton communities researched for this guide.

  • 12-month leases are standard at the communities researched
  • Pet policies at Emerson Isles commonly involve a one-time fee plus ongoing monthly pet rent, on top of any base rent

Local Tenant Protections

South Carolina law provides the baseline for tenant rights, but Bluffton may have additional local ordinances that affect your lease.

  • No Bluffton-specific tenant-protection ordinance was found beyond South Carolina's statewide law; the town's ordinance library is difficult to fully search by automated means, so this is reasonably confident, not certain
  • A Short-Term Rental Unit Permit is required for any dwelling rented whole for under 30 consecutive days, capping most zoning districts (including several historic-district designations) at one short-term rental per lot -- relevant if you're weighing a short-term rental as an alternative to a standard lease
  • No local rent control; South Carolina law preempts it statewide

South Carolina statewide baseline

Security deposit cap
No cap
Deposit return
30 days
Landlord entry notice
24 hours
Rent regulation
None statewide

Statutory basis: S.C. Code §27-40-410/-530. Figures verified June 2026 against the primary statute. Statutes change — a lawyer in South Carolina can confirm what applies to a specific tenancy.

For full South Carolina statewide tenant rights, see our South Carolina tenant rights guide.

Mandatory Fees at Bluffton Communities

What follows is what each community's own website discloses (or doesn't), verified September 2026.

  • Emerson Isles: one-time $75 application fee and $175 admin fee, plus a $500 security deposit -- all mandatory. Monthly mandatory charges include a $5.50 utility service fee plus variable trash and water/sewer. Optional charges include a $15/month damage waiver and $45/month reserved parking. Pet costs are a $375 (first pet) or $150 (second pet) one-time fee plus $25/month per-pet rent.
  • The Grays at Old Town: no itemized fee schedule found on the site -- only a generic note that "additional fees may apply" for pets. Not confirmed as fee-free.
  • Mystic Bluff Apartments discloses detailed fees (not rent): $50 application, $49 admin, a security deposit of either $350-525 (non-refundable alternative program) or one month's rent (traditional, refundable), $350/$200 pet fees, $35/month pet rent, $250-300/month for a garage, $25/month for storage.

Emerson Isles' fee schedule shows how quickly add-ons stack: application, admin, deposit, and a monthly utility fee are all mandatory before rent even reflects the true move-in cost. Confirm the complete schedule in writing at any community before signing.

Bluffton's Commercial Market and Historic District

Bluffton's commercial leasing market is modest -- aggregator-modeled estimates put total office space around 368,000 square feet with asking rates near $19-43/sqft/year, and Beaufort County-wide retail availability around 305,000 square feet. These figures come from commercial-listing aggregators, not a verified market report, so treat them as directional rather than confirmed transacted rents. The Buckwalter Parkway corridor is the town's main commercial strip. Separately, Old Town Bluffton has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1996, with 80-plus contributing structures governed by the Town's Historic Preservation Commission and its 2006 Old Town Master Plan -- relevant to any commercial tenant planning exterior work or signage in that specific area.

Common Issues Renters Face in Bluffton

These are the most frequent lease-related considerations reported by renters and researched at Bluffton communities:

  • A community with no itemized fee schedule (like The Grays at Old Town) isn't necessarily fee-free -- confirm directly before signing
  • Several prominent Bluffton communities' own sites block automated price-checking, making it harder to comparison-shop online than in a larger metro
  • Anyone considering a short-term rental instead of a standard lease should confirm the property actually holds a valid Short-Term Rental Unit Permit

Negotiating Your Lease in Bluffton

South Carolina is landlord-favorable with minimal statutory protections. Bluffton's tourism-adjacent economy and growing population have kept demand steady.

  • Request the complete fee schedule in writing at any community that doesn't itemize fees on its own site
  • Compare total move-in cost (application, admin, deposit, and first month) across communities, not just the advertised monthly rent
  • If a short-term rental is being pitched as a flexible lease alternative, confirm its permit status directly with the Town of Bluffton

A generic "additional fees may apply" note with no dollar amount, as at The Grays at Old Town, is not the same as a disclosed fee schedule -- get specifics before signing.

Local Tip for Bluffton Renters

Don't assume Bluffton is currently South Carolina's fastest-growing town just because it's often described that way -- the most recent Census data puts Hardeeville, Woodruff, Greer, and Fort Mill ahead of it for the latest single year. Bluffton's real story is a longer, decade-plus growth curve tied to Hilton Head-adjacent retirement and second-home migration, which still means real competition for rentals, just not the single-year spike the "fastest-growing" label implies.

Frequently Asked Questions About Renting in Bluffton

What is the average rent in Bluffton?
Emerson Isles publishes starting rents of $1,869-2,123/month across its 2-3 bedroom plans with published pricing (several other floor plans are "Call For Pricing"). The Grays at Old Town publishes $1,784/month for a 2-bedroom and $2,088/month for a 3-bedroom. Several other prominent Bluffton communities' own sites could not be independently verified due to bot-protection blocking automated access, so their pricing is not reported here as confirmed.
What fees does Emerson Isles charge beyond rent?
A one-time $75 application fee and $175 administration fee, plus a $500 security deposit. Monthly mandatory charges include a $5.50 utility service fee plus variable trash and water/sewer charges. Optional charges include a $15/month damage waiver, $45/month reserved parking, and $25/month per-pet rent on top of a $375 (first pet) or $150 (second pet) one-time pet fee.
Is Bluffton really one of South Carolina's fastest-growing towns right now?
Not in the most current data. The Census Bureau's Vintage 2025 single-year estimates name Woodruff, Hardeeville, Greer, and Fort Mill as South Carolina's standout gainers -- Bluffton isn't among them for that specific year. Bluffton's fastest-growing reputation is a longer-run story: its population grew more than 120% over the 2010s, from about 12,530 in the 2010 Census to 27,716 in 2020.
Does Bluffton have short-term rental restrictions relevant to renters?
Yes. The Town of Bluffton requires a Short-Term Rental Unit Permit for any dwelling rented in its entirety for under 30 consecutive days, capping most zoning districts -- including several historic-district designations -- at one short-term rental per lot. Requirements include one parking space per bedroom, a 24/7-reachable owner or agent who can arrive within an hour, and annual permit renewal that's voided immediately on any ownership transfer.
Is there a commercial leasing market in Bluffton?
A modest one. Market-tracking estimates put Bluffton's office space around 368,000 square feet with asking rates near $19-43/sqft/year, and Beaufort County-wide retail availability around 305,000 square feet. The Buckwalter Parkway corridor is the town's main commercial strip. These figures come from commercial-listing aggregators, not a verified market report, so treat them as directional asking-rate estimates rather than confirmed transacted rents.

Stop Guessing. Get Your LiabilityScore™

Upload your lease and get a plain-English risk analysis in minutes. It's free — and it might save you thousands.

Score My Lease Now ↗